Directorate General NCC


          The NCC functions under the Ministry of Defence, Govt of India. The head of the Organisation at All India level is the Director-General NCC who is an officer from the Indian Army in the rank of Lieutenant General.  He is responsible for the functioning of the National Cadet Corps in the country through the National Cadet Corps Headquarters situated at New Delhi. He is assisted by two Additional Directors General (ADG ‘A’ and ADG ‘ B’).  One ADG is always a Maj Gen from the Army, the second ADG is an Air Vice Marshal from the Air Force or a Rear Admiral from the Navy, in rotation. There are five Deputy Directors General (DDG) at the HQNCC, who head the various Branches of the HQ.  Three DDsG are Brigs from the Army, the fourth DDG is an Air Commodore from the Air Force or a Commodore from the Navy, in rotation.  The fifth DDG is a Civilian Officer of the NCC.

         At New Delhi, a Central Advisory Committee has been set up with the Raksha Mantri(RM)/Raksha Rajya Mantri(RRM) as Chairman to advise the Government on all matters of policy and administration of the NCC. Each state also has a State Advisory Committee.

          The NCC is administered directly by the Ministry of Defence. The Director General has a staff which is drawn from the three services - Army, Navy and Air Force.

          The NCC is divided into 17 Directorates, similar to Brigades, in which each State or group of States forms a Directorate. The smaller states and union territories are attached with Directorates of the bigger states.  Each Directorate is under the command of an officer equivalent to the rank of Commodore, designated as the Deputy Director General(DDG) NCC for that Directorate.  The DDG is the Head of the Department in respect of the NCC Directorates.  The DDsG for Orissa and Tamil Nadu, Andaman Nicobar & Pondicherry are naval officers. The DDsG for Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan and Karnataka & Goa are Air Force officers.  All other DDsG are Army officer. 

          The 17 Directorates are further sub-divided into 95 Groups, with each Directorate HQ controlling two to fourteen Group Headquarters, the number of which varies according to the size of the state.  Each Group is under the command of an Officer equivalent to the rank of Colonel. Other than the Commanding Officer, known as the Group Commander, each Group HQ has an Administrative Officer and a Training Officer with ranks of either a Lieutenant Colonel or a Major. 85 Groups are headed by Army officers, 4 Groups by naval officers and 6 Groups by Air Force officers.

          The 95 NCC groups are composed of 775 Units.  Each Group consists of NCC Battalions, NCC Air Force Squadrons and NCC Naval Units.  These NCC Units are commanded by Lieutenant Colonel or their equivalents. 5 to 10 function under each Group, the number of which varies according to the size of the Group.

         The cadets in these units are drawn from about 200 Universities, 4800 Colleges and 8000 Schools. The exact figure varies as institutions are dropped from or added to various NCC units every year.

         Officers & Staff. Officers and Permanent Instructional Staff (PI Staff) are drawn from Army, Navy and Air Force including Central Govt Civilian Staff. Apart from these, Officers, Staff and Associate NCC Officers are drawn from State Govt/Union Territories.

         Defence Services Officers.   Regular officers of the rank of Col(TS)/Lt Col and their equivalent from the Navy and the Air Force as Commanding Officers, and officers of rank of Lt Col/ Major and equivalent from the Navy and the Air Force as Administrative Officers of NCC units, are responsible for the overall conduct and supervision of training in the NCC units. In addition officers are posted to NCC Group HQs, State Directorates and HQ Directorate General of NCC, and work as coordinators and supervisors for the smooth conduct of training in the Corps. 1488 Army, 131 Navy and 151 Air Force officers are presently posted to NCC billets.

       Whole Time Lady Officers.   Whole Time Lady Officers have been commissioned in the NCC since 24 May 1980. There are 110 posts of WTLOs in the rank of Lieutenant, Captain, Major and Lt Col authorised in the NCC.  WTLOs are commissioned in the rank of Lieutenant. They are promoted to the rank of Captain with six years of service; Major after 12 years of commissioned service and; Lt Col after 16 years of commissioned service. WTLOs carry out all the same duties assigned to regular officers  and are posted in the NCC Units/Formations. They exercise Command and Control as provided for under the NCC Act and Rules.

Members Area

Upcoming Events

Recent Videos

Recent Photos

Recent Blog Entries

Newest Members

Highlights of this Website

Certificate Exam Results

Media Coverage

Career Opportunities

Incentives for NCC Certificates

Camp Schedule